

West Pennant Hills Sports Club Men's Bowls Section



Minutes for the 46th Annual General Meeting Held Saturday 30th August 2014 at the West Pennant Hills Sports Club

Meeting opened at 10:47

Welcome

President Warren Phillips welcomed Keith Robinson (director & life member), Steve Brady (director), Barry Walker (patron & life member). Richard Hickey (Sports Club chairman) and Bill Austin (Major sponsor, Sports Club director) were unable to be present and sent apologies.

Warren mentioned the passing of Alex Stewart, Wilf Morschel and Mike Chambers during the past year.

Attendance

There were 48 members in attendance as recorded in the attendance sheet.

Apologies

There were apologies from 8 members as recorded in the attendance sheet.

Minutes from 2013

Moved by Michael Quinlan, seconded Kevin Tuckerman that the minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting are taken as read.

2013/14 Annual Report

Moved by John Leonard seconded by Peter Eagle that the Annual Report for 2013/14 be accepted.

Warren offered thanks to the many who support the running of the club.

Business Arising from Previous AGM

There were no matters raised.

Election of Management Committee

Warren thanked each of the current members for their support and contributions during his presidency.

Warren declared all positions vacant and handed over to Barry Walker to conduct the elections.

Barry Walker thanked Warren for his leadership as President over the past year.

Barry spoke of how fortunate we are to have the solid support of the Sports Club. He mentioned an article in the local paper detailing some of the recent activities of the club. Barry spoke of the need to encourage new bowlers, particularly young bowlers, to take up the sport and to bowl at WPH.

Barry confirmed David Wilson elected President unopposed, congratulated him and presented him with his badge of office.

David thanked Barry and recognised Barry as being a long serving member of the club and patron and for the ongoing support Barry provided to the section through the year.

David presented Warren Phillips with the Past President Badge.

The results of the elections were then announced by David, presenting each person with their badge of office.

The new Committee is:

President David Wilson (un-opposed)
Senior Vice President Max Walters (un-opposed)
Vice President Stephen Watson (un-opposed)
Committee Secretary Dallas Palm (un-opposed)
Treasurer Ross Fitzpatrick (un-opposed)
Bowls Coordinator Michael Schwarcz (un-opposed)

There were 3 nominations for Committee Member (Gary Tyrrell, Geoff McIntosh, Paul van Tilburg) with 2 positions to be filled –

Following closed ballot Gary Tyrell and Geoff McIntosh were confirmed as elected.

Keith Robinson moved that ballot papers be destroyed. Seconded by Bob Cole. Carried by show of hands.

Election of Selectors

There were 3 nominations received for Selector against a requirement of 5. Alan Bowry (absent), Les Watkins (absent) & Paul van Tilburg were confirmed as Selector. Terry Barnett questioned the validity of nominees being absent. It was confirmed that there is no requirement to be present at the AGM to be duly elected.

With the election declared, David asked for members interested in filling the vacant selector positions (2) to put in an expression of interest by the following Monday.

Michael Quinlan challenged this decision. Warren Phillips contended the decision was valid on basis the election had been declared.

Terry Barnett also questioned calling for nominations from the floor rather than entering an expression of interest. Warren noted there is no provision in the Constitution to accept nominations once ballot declared. Michael Quinlan challenged this declaring there is nothing in the constitution preventing nominations from the floor.

Despite maintaining the legitimacy of the original decision, David Wilson then agreed to accept nominations from the floor.

Michael Quinlan nominated Jeremy Thiedeman which was seconded by Bob Cole. Jeremy accepted the nomination. Terry Barnett nominated Bob Cole who declined. Max Walters nominated John Skidmore who declined. Paul van Tilburg nominated Ian Corke who declined.

Jeremy Thiedeman was confirmed elected.

There remained 1 vacancy to be filled

The selectors were requested to hold a meeting to elect a chairman and advise the Management Committee of the result by the next committee meeting on 1st September. (Note: a meeting was held the Monday following the AGM with Les Watkins elected as Chairman).

Umpires & Coaches Panels

It was noted that Don Couch had been re-elected (un-opposed) chairman of Umpires for another year, and Michael Schwarcz had been elected Chairman of Coaches (un-opposed). These panel elections occurred prior to the AGM.

David Wilson thanked our patrons – Doug Gunton (absent) and Barry Walker and asked they continue in this role. Barry accepted.

Don Stubbin was thanked for his work as auditor for the section. David Wilson noted there was no

2014 AGM Minutes.docx Page 2/3

intention to have an auditor for 2015 as the financial responsibility is with the Sports Club.

David Wilson spoke of his goals for the club as defending the Pennant success, increasing participation in tournaments and championships, improved communications with members and local community through various media.

David spoke of the success of the Competition Panel in 2013/14 and was seeking to extend this success in 2014/15, indicating there will be a process for nominating to be a part of this panel.

David spoke of his vision to improve the balance between competition and social bowls, and looking to improve collaboration with the Women's section; to review the new fee structure to assess whether the expected outcomes have been achieved with Max and Stephen taking lead role in this process; and improve competition and game times.

On committees, David spoke of 'less doing more' with his plan for only six sub-committees which will be advised following the first committee meeting.

David implored all members to adopt a positive outlook and approach to the club. As President, 'the buck stops with David' and he requests grievances to be taken up with him rather than public criticism.

General Business

- Kevin Hoffman suggested Selectors and Competition panel members be selected by ballot. David responded that the new committee will review continuance of the Competition panel, its makeup and role. The Competition panel is a sub-committee and is appointed by the committee.
- Tony Boughton noted the utilisation of a Competition panel is strongly supported by RNSWBA as a process to improve competitiveness of clubs.
- Bob Cole noted that all selectors elected had completed the Competition course run by RNSWBA.
- Harold Holden noted that once games are over there is nothing to keep bowlers in the club.
 He suggested there be some other activity after the game such as winning rink prize.
- Paul van Tilburg noted in his opinion the elected selectors role was to select all teams for all events, and that he was not prepared to only do part of the job.
- Keith Robinson raised the issue of a membership drive, suggesting using the Sports Club's birthday list mail out as a means of efficiently reaching a large audience. Keith also suggested a return of open day as in the past. Stephen Watson supported Keith's suggestions.
- Max Walters noted that the last open day with letterbox drop of 8,000 was 2 years ago. This resulted in 45 people attending and a gain of 3 or 4 members. A lot of effort by many for a small gain in members.
- Don Stubbin suggested street signage to advertise bowls and calling for new members, availability of coaches etc.

Meeting closed at 11:45am.

Dallas Palm Secretary

Men's Bowls Section

2014 AGM Minutes.docx Page 3/3